Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

People

Graduate School of Education

  • Vivian Gadsden

    William T. Carter Professor in Child Development and Education

    • Cultural and social factors affecting learning and literacy across the life-course and within families,
    • Intergenerational learning
    • Relationships between literacy in families and issues of culture, race, gender, and poverty in diverse learning contexts
    • Interconnectedness among families' political, cultural, and social histories and racialized identities

    viviang@gse.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Marybeth Gasman

    Professor of Education

    • Philanthropy and historically black colleges
    • Black leadership
    • Contemporary fundraising issues at black colleges
    • African-American giving
    • Minority Serving Institutions

    mgasman@upenn.edu

    Website
  • Shaun Harper

    Associate Professor of Education

    • Race and gender in higher education
    • Black male college participation and achievement
    • College environments, student outcomes, and engagement
    • Student affairs at Historically Black Colleges and Universities

    sharper1@gse.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Howard Stevensen

    Associate Professor of Education

    • African-American psychology
    • At-risk youth and high-risk boys
    • Family and parental engagement
    • Racial integration and re-segregation

    howards@gse.upenn.edu

    Website

Law School

  • Anita L. Allen

    Henry R. Silverman Professor of Law

    • Privacy Law, Theory and Values
    • Legal Theory
    • Contemporary Ethics and Bioethics
    • Mental Illness
    • Accountability
    • Race Relations
    • Gender and the Law

    aallen@law.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Regina Austin

    William A. Schnader Professor of Law

    • Torts & Insurance
    • Law & Cultural Studies
    • Minority Legal Feminism
    • Economic Discrimination
    • Documentaries and the Law
    • Visual Legal Advocacy (Production)

    raustin@law.upenn.edu

    Website

School of Arts and Sciences

  • Cheikh Anta Mbacke Babou

    Associate Professor of History

    • African History and the History of Islam in Africa
    • Francophone West Africa from the 19th century
    • Contemporary African diasporas in Europe and the United States

    cheikh@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Kathleen Brown

    Professor of History

    • History of Race and Gender
    • History of Slavery and Abolition
    • History of Race Relations
    • Atlantic History
    • History of Women
    • History of Sexuality
    • U.S. History

    kabrown@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Thadious Davis

    Geraldine R. Segal Professor of American Social Thought

    • African American literature
    • Southern literature with an emphasis on issue of race, region, and gender

    davistm@english.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Angela Duckworth

    Assistant Professor of Psychology

    • Self-control grit achievement psychology character
    • Quantitative research methods

    duckwort@psych.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Daniel Q. Gillion

    Assistant Professor of Political Science

    • Racial and Ethnic Politics, Political Behavior, Public Opinion
    • Judicial Politics
    • The American Presidency
    • Questions of political participation
    • Institutional influences on citizens' behavior
    • Governmental responsiveness to citizens' concerns.

    dgillion@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Marie Gottschalk

    Professor of Political Science

    • Criminal justice
    • Health policy
    • U.S. political economy
    • Organized labor
    • Welfare state
    • Comparative politics of public policy

    mgottsch@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Steven Hahn

    Roy F. and Jeannette P. Nichols Professor of History

    • Nineteenth-century America
    • African-American history
    • History of the American South
    • International history of slavery and emancipation

    shahn2@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Theodore Hershberg

    Professor of Public Policy & History

    • Public school reform
    • Regional issues (city-suburban cooperation)
    • Urban-industrial development
    • African-American urban experience

    tedhersh@upenn.edu

    Website
  • Onoso Imoagene

    Assistant Professor of Sociology

    • Immigration
    • Inter-Ethnic Group Relations
    • The African Second Generation in the U.S. and U.K.
    • Race and Ethnicity
    • Immigrant Educational Attainment and Social Mobility

    imoagene@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Lydie E. Moudileno

    Professor of Romance Languages

    Francophone studies, with a focus on the literatures of the Caribbean and Sub-saharan Africa

    moudilen@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Carol Muller

    Professor of Music

    • Music
    • Gender
    • Ethnography
    • Gospel and Muslim Music in Philly
    • South Africa
    • Performance Studies
    • New Media and Technology
    • Pedagogy

    camuller@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Gwendolyn DuBois Shaw

    Associate Professor of History of Art

    • Race, gender, sexuality and class
    • The art of the United States and the “New World”
    • Polynesian, Brazilian, and African American art

    gshaw@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Rogers M. Smith

    Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Political Science

    • Public Law
    • American political thought
    • Political Thought
    • Race and Gender Politics
    • Citizenship and Immigration

    rogerss@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Deborah A. Thomas

    R. Jean Brownlee Term Professor of Anthropology, Graduate Chair

    • Political Anthropology
    • Sovereignty
    • Violence
    • The Afterlives of Imperialism
    • Transnationalism and Diaspora
    • Race and Gender
    • Performance and Popular Culture
    • Culture and Political Economy
    • Popular Culture
    • The Caribbean

    Deborah.Thomas@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Robert Vitalis

    Professor of Political Science

    • Race and American International Relations Theory
    • African-American Internationalist Thought
    • The Political and Cultural Economy of the World Oil Industry
    • American Expansionism
    • History of International Relations and Development Studies

     

    rvitalis@sas.upenn.edu

    Website

School of Nursing

  • J. Margo Brooks Carthon

    Assistant Professor of Nursing

    • History of race and illness (Early 20th Century)
    • Health disparities
    • Healthcare workforce diversity
    • Nursing organization and minority health outcomes
    • Health and social policy

    jmbrooks@nursing.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Christopher Lance Coleman

    Fagin Term Associate Professor of Nursing and Multicultural Diversity

    colemanc@nursing.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Lisa Lewis

    Assistant Professor of Nursing

    • Community-based research
    • Health disparities research
    • Healthy equity
    • Social justice
    • Health behavior change

    lisaml@nursing.upenn.edu

    Website

School of Social Policy and Practice

  • Ezekiel Dixon-Román

    Associate Professor of Social Policy and Practice and Education

    • Sociology of education
    • Cultural studies
    • Quantitative methods

    ezekield@sp2.upenn.edu

    Website

Wharton School

  • Kenneth Shropshire

    David W. Hauck Professor of Legal Studies and Business Ethics

    • Sports industry
    • Sports law contracts; antitrust; negotiation and dispute resolution

    shrop@wharton.upenn.edu

    Website