Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Faculty by Region: Africa

  • Roger Allen

    Professor of Arabic and Comparative Literature, Department of Near Eastern Languages & Civilization

    • Modern Arabic Fiction
    • Literatures in the Arab world

    rallen@ccat.sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Elizabeth Alpern

    Associate Professor of Pediatrics

    • Childhood Disabilities in Africa
    • Social Work Utilization in Pediatric Emergency Departments

     

    alpern@email.chop.edu

    Website
  • Cheikh Anta Mbacke Babou

    Associate Professor of History

    • African History and the History of Islam in Africa
    • Francophone West Africa from the 19th century
    • Contemporary African diasporas in Europe and the United States

    cheikh@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Rita Barnard

    Professor of English and Comparative Literature

    • South African Literature
    • Post-Colonial African Literature

    rbarnard@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Sandra Barnes

    Professor of Anthropology Emeritus

    • Social and Cultural anthropology
    • Sub-Saharan Africa
    • Complex societies, political anthropology
    • Religion
    • Popular culture
    • Historical anthropology
    Website
  • Gregory Bisson

    Assistant Professor of Medicine

    • Infectious Diseases
    • Patient-Oriented Research
    • HIV
    • International Health

    bisson@mail.med.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Lee Cassanelli

    Associate Professor of History

    • African history, oral history, and comparative world history
    • The Horn of Africa (Ethiopia and Somalia) from the 18th to the 20th century
    • Social and cultural transformations in Somalia since 1890:

    lcassane@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Richard Estes

    Emeritus Professor

    • International and Comparative Social Development
    • Strategic and Long Term Planning
    • Social Indicators
    • Social Reporting

    restes@sp2.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Steven Feierman

    Professor of History Emeritus

    • History of health and healing in Africa
    • Content and uses of orally transmitted knowledge
    • The place of knowledge about Africa in the social sciences

    feierman@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Hocine Fetni

    Assistant Dean for Academic Advising, The College, School of Arts and Sciences Adjunct. Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology

    • Islamic Fundamentalism in the Middle East and North Africa
    • Political Instability and Laws of Investment in North Africa
    • Law and Social Change in the Middle east and North Africa - Corporation of Islamic Law

     

    hfetni@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Marja Hoek-Smit

    Director of the International Housing Finance Program Zell/Lurie Real Estate Center

    Adjunct Professor Real Estate & City and Regional Planning
     
    • Housing
    • Finances and Planning
    • Eastern and Southern Africa

    mhoek@wharton.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Onoso Imoagene

    Assistant Professor of Sociology

    • Immigration
    • Inter-Ethnic Group Relations
    • The African Second Generation in the U.S. and U.K.
    • Race and Ethnicity
    • Immigrant Educational Attainment and Social Mobility

    imoagene@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Stephen J. Kobrin

    Professor of Multinational Management

    Publisher and Executive Director, Wharton Digital Press
     
    • International Political Economy
    • Globalization
    • Global Strategy
    • Impact of the Information Revolution

     

    kobrins@wharton.edu

    Website
  • Hans-Peter Kohler

    Frederick J. Warren Professor of Demography, Department of Sociology

    Research Associate, Population Studies Center University of Pennsylvania
     
    • Fertility and Related Behaviors in Both Developing and Developed Countries
    • Social Interactions and AIDS-related Behavior in Africa

    hpkohler@pop.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Mark Liberman

    Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Linguistics

    • Phonetic Evidence for Linguistic Structure
    • Phonology and Phonetics of Lexical Tone in West African languages
    • Application of Linguistics in Speech Recognition and Synthesis

     

    myl@cis.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Ian MacMillan

    The Dhirubhai Ambani Professor of Innovation and Entrepreneurship

    • Organizational Competence
    • New Venture Management and Entrepreneurship

     

    macmilli@wharton.edu

    Website
  • Ann Mayer

    Associate Professor of Legal Studies and Business Ethics

    • Comparative constitutional law
    • Human rights and globalization
    • International human rights law
    • Law in the contemporary middle east
    • Women’s international human rights

    mayera@wharton.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Janet Monge

    Adjunct Associate Professor Department of Anthropology

    • Physical Anthropology of Swahili People
    • Neanderthals
    • Paleoanthroplogy
    • Skeletal Biology

    jmonge@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Lydie E. Moudileno

    Professor of Romance Languages

    Francophone studies, with a focus on the literatures of the Caribbean and Sub-saharan Africa

    moudilen@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Carol Muller

    Professor of Music

    • Music
    • Gender
    • Ethnography
    • Gospel and Muslim Music in Philly
    • South Africa
    • Performance Studies
    • New Media and Technology
    • Pedagogy

    camuller@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Brendan O’Leary

    Lauder Professor of Political Science

    • Nationalism
    • National and Ethnic Conflict-Regulation
    • Democracy
    • Democratization and Electoral Systems

    boleary@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Howard Pack

    Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy

    • Effects of Foreign Aid on Development Expenditure
    • Diffusion of Technology in Developing Countries
    • Role of External Economies in Industrial Development

    packh@wharton.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Eve Troutt Powell

    Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of History and Africana Studies

    Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, School of Arts and Sciences
    • The relationship between Africa and the Middle East
    • History of African slavery in the Nile valley

    troutt@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Theodore Schurr

    Associate Professor of Anthropology

    Biological History of and Complex Diseases in African Populations

     

    tgschurr@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Heather Sharkey

    Associate Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

    • History
    • Society and Culture of North Africa
    • Historical Reflections of religion in North Africa

    hsharkey@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Donald Silberberg

    Emeritus Professor of Neurology

    • Clinical Neuro-Sciences in the Developing World
    • Child Health and Development in Developing Countries

    silberbe@mail.med.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Mahlet Tadesse

    Assistant Professor of Biostatistics

    mtadesse@cceb.upenn.edu

  • Daniel Wagner

    Professor, UNESCO Chair in Learning and Literacy

    Director, International Literacy Institute and National Center of Adult Literacy
    Head, Program in International Education Development
     
    • Cross-Cultural Studies of Cognition and Socialization
    • Education in Developing Countries

    wagner@literacy.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Josef W. Wegner

    Assistant Professor, Asian & Middle Eastern Studies

    • Egyptian Mortuary Complex and Middle Kingdom Settlement Patterns in South Abydos
    • Egyptian Culture and Archaeology

    jwegner@sas.upenn.edu

  • Tukufu Zuberi

    Lasry Family Professor of Race Relations

    Professor of Sociology and Africana Studies
     
    • Sociology
    • Human Rights
    • African and African Diaspora
    • Africana Studies
    • Population and Health
    • Film

    tukufu@ssc.upenn.edu

    Website