Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Faculty by Region: Africa

  • David Amponsah

    Assistant Professor of Africana Studies

    • African Religious History
    • Health and Healing in Africa
    • Religion, Politics, and Power
    • Colonialism and Empire
    • Africa–India Relations

    amda@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Cheikh Anta Mbacke Babou

    Associate Professor of History

    • African History and the History of Islam in Africa
    • Francophone West Africa from the 19th century
    • Contemporary African diasporas in Europe and the United States

    cheikh@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Rita Barnard

    Professor of English and Comparative Literature

    • South African Literature
    • Post-Colonial African Literature

    rbarnard@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Gregory Bisson

    Assistant Professor of Medicine

    • Infectious Diseases
    • Patient-Oriented Research
    • HIV
    • International Health

    bisson@mail.med.upenn.edu

    Website
  • William Burke-White

    Richard Perry Professor

    Professor of Law
    Inaugural Director, Perry World House
     
    • International Law
    • International Relations
    • Post-Conflict Reconstruction

     

    wburkewh@law.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Lee Cassanelli

    Associate Professor of History

    • African history, oral history, and comparative world history
    • The Horn of Africa (Ethiopia and Somalia) from the 18th to the 20th century
    • Social and cultural transformations in Somalia since 1890:

    lcassane@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Margo Crawford

    Professor of English

    • 20th and 21st-Century American Literature and Visual Culture
    • Global Black Studies
    • Performance Studies
    • Queer Theory
    • Comparative Ethnic Studies
    • Radical Feminism
    • Transnational Modernism

    margocr@english.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Ali Dinar

    Senior Lecturer

    • Sudanese popular culture
    • Politics of identity
    • History of colonial and post-colonial Africa
    Website
  • Richard Estes

    Emeritus Professor

    • International and Comparative Social Development
    • Strategic and Long Term Planning
    • Social Indicators
    • Social Reporting

    restes@sp2.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Hocine Fetni

    Assistant Dean for Academic Advising, The College, School of Arts and Sciences Adjunct. Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology

    • Islamic Fundamentalism in the Middle East and North Africa
    • Political Instability and Laws of Investment in North Africa
    • Law and Social Change in the Middle east and North Africa - Corporation of Islamic Law

     

    hfetni@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Aline Gatignon

    Assistant Professor of Management

    • Cross-sector Partnerships
    • Emerging Markets
    • Cooperative Strategy
    • Stakeholder Engagement
    • Non-market Strategy
    • Corporate Social Responsibility
    • Multi-level Theory

    galine@wharton.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Michael Hanchard

    Gustave C. Kuemmerle Professor of Africana Studies

    Department Chair
    • Comparative Politics (Nationalism, Race and Ethnicity, Social Movements, Political Culture)
    • Africana Studies
    • Latin American Studies
    • Political Theory (Citizenship, Comparative Political Theory)

    hanchard@sas.upenn.edu

  • Marja Hoek-Smit

    Director of the International Housing Finance Program Zell/Lurie Real Estate Center

    Adjunct Professor Real Estate & City and Regional Planning
     
    • Housing
    • Finances and Planning
    • Eastern and Southern Africa

    mhoek@wharton.upenn.edu

    Website
  • John L. Jackson Jr.

    Richard Perry University Professor of Communication and Anthropology

    Professor of Africana Studies
    Dean, Annenberg School for Communication
    • Ethnographic Film and Visual Studies
    • Race Theory
    • Globalization, Transnationalism, and Diaspora
    • Media Anthropology
    • Urban Studies
    • Cultural Studies
    • Performance Theory
    • Popular Culture

    jjackson@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • John B. Jemmott III

    Kenneth B. Clark Professor of Communication

    • Methods for reducing HIV/STD risks in the black community

     

    jjemmott@asc.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Hans-Peter Kohler

    Frederick J. Warren Professor of Demography, Department of Sociology

    Research Associate, Population Studies Center University of Pennsylvania
     
    • Fertility and Related Behaviors in Both Developing and Developed Countries
    • Social Interactions and AIDS-related Behavior in Africa

    hpkohler@pop.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Andrew Lamas

    Lecturer, Urban Studies Program

    Lecturer, School of Social Policy and Practice
     

    atlamas@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Mark Liberman

    Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Linguistics

    • Phonetic Evidence for Linguistic Structure
    • Phonology and Phonetics of Lexical Tone in West African languages
    • Application of Linguistics in Speech Recognition and Synthesis

     

    myl@cis.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Ian MacMillan

    The Dhirubhai Ambani Professor of Innovation and Entrepreneurship

    • Organizational Competence
    • New Venture Management and Entrepreneurship

     

    macmilli@wharton.edu

    Website
  • Audrey Mbeje

    • Discourse analysis and second/foreign language pedagogy
    • Foreign language curriculum design and assessment
    • Online and text-based material development
    • Anaphora, passivization, and tense/aspect in the Nguni languages of South Africa

    mbeje@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Ramah McKay

    Assistant Professor

    • Global Health
    • History and anthropology of humanitarianism
    • Critical approaches to development

    rmckay@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Janet Monge

    Adjunct Associate Professor Department of Anthropology

    • Physical Anthropology of Swahili People
    • Neanderthals
    • Paleoanthroplogy
    • Skeletal Biology

    jmonge@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Carol Muller

    Professor of Music

    • Music
    • Gender
    • Ethnography
    • Gospel and Muslim Music in Philly
    • South Africa
    • Performance Studies
    • New Media and Technology
    • Pedagogy

    camuller@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Brendan O’Leary

    Lauder Professor of Political Science

    • Nationalism
    • National and Ethnic Conflict-Regulation
    • Democracy
    • Democratization and Electoral Systems

    boleary@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Neil Perry Sheth

    Assistant Professor Of Orthopaedic Surgery

    • Acetablar Bone Loss
    • Pelvic Discontinuity
    • Osteolysis in Total Hip Arthroplasty
    • Antibiotic Coated Artrhoplasty Implants
    • Peri-prosthetic Infection
    • Orthopaedic Surgery in Global Health
    Website
  • Eve Troutt Powell

    Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of History and Africana Studies

    • The relationship between Africa and the Middle East
    • History of African slavery in the Nile valley

    troutt@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Theodore Schurr

    Professor of Anthropology

    • Biological History of and Complex Diseases in African Populations 

    tgschurr@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Heather Sharkey

    Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

    • History
    • Society and Culture of North Africa
    • Historical Reflections of religion in North Africa

    hsharkey@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Deborah A. Thomas

    R. Jean Brownlee Term Professor of Anthropology, Graduate Chair

    • Political Anthropology
    • Sovereignty
    • Violence
    • The Afterlives of Imperialism
    • Transnationalism and Diaspora
    • Race and Gender
    • Performance and Popular Culture
    • Culture and Political Economy
    • Popular Culture
    • The Caribbean

    Deborah.Thomas@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Sarah Tishkoff

    David and Lyn Silfen University Professor

    • African Integrative Evolutionary Genomics

    tishkoff@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Robert Vitalis

    Professor of Political Science

    • Race and American International Relations Theory
    • African-American Internationalist Thought
    • The Political and Cultural Economy of the World Oil Industry
    • American Expansionism
    • History of International Relations and Development Studies

     

    rvitalis@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Daniel Wagner

    Professor, UNESCO Chair in Learning and Literacy

    Director, International Literacy Institute and National Center of Adult Literacy
    Head, Program in International Education Development
     
    • Cross-Cultural Studies of Cognition and Socialization
    • Education in Developing Countries

    wagner@literacy.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Josef W. Wegner

    Assistant Professor, Asian & Middle Eastern Studies

    • Egyptian Mortuary Complex and Middle Kingdom Settlement Patterns in South Abydos
    • Egyptian Culture and Archaeology

    jwegner@sas.upenn.edu

  • Sharon Wolf

    • Poverty and child development
    • Risk and resilience
    • Early childhood education
    • School readiness
    • Teacher professional development
    • Program evaluation

    wolfs@upenn.edu

    Website
  • Dagmawi Woubshet

    Ahuja Family Presidential Associate Professor of English

    • 20th-Centure American Literature
    • African American and Ethnic American Literatures
    • Postcolonial and Transnational Literatures
    • Global English
    • African American Studies
    • Gender and Sexuality Studies
    • Poetry and Poetics
    • Race, Empire, Postcolonialism
    • Transatlantic Studies
    • Visual Culture

    dagw@upenn.edu

    Website
  • Tukufu Zuberi

    Lasry Family Professor of Race Relations

    Professor of Sociology and Africana Studies
     
    • Sociology
    • Human Rights
    • Global Africa
    • Africana Studies
    • Population and Health
    • Film

    tukufu@ssc.upenn.edu

    Website