Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Faculty by Region: Africa

  • Travis Aldous

  • David Amponsah

  • David Amponsah

  • Yiwola Awoyale

  • Cheikh Anta Mbacke Babou

    Associate Professor of History

    • African History and the History of Islam in Africa
    • Francophone West Africa from the 19th century
    • Contemporary African diasporas in Europe and the United States

    cheikh@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Rita Barnard

    Professor of English and Comparative Literature

    • South African Literature
    • Post-Colonial African Literature

    rbarnard@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Jere Behrman

  • Gregory Bisson

    Assistant Professor of Medicine

    • Infectious Diseases
    • Patient-Oriented Research
    • HIV
    • International Health

    bisson@mail.med.upenn.edu

    Website
  • William Burke-White

    Richard Perry Professor

    Professor of Law
    Inaugural Director, Perry World House
     
    • International Law
    • International Relations
    • Post-Conflict Reconstruction

     

    wburkewh@law.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Sara Byala

  • Lee Cassanelli

    Associate Professor of History

    • African history, oral history, and comparative world history
    • The Horn of Africa (Ethiopia and Somalia) from the 18th to the 20th century
    • Social and cultural transformations in Somalia since 1890:

    lcassane@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Dorothy Cheney

    Professor of Biology

    • Neurobiology
    • Behavior
    • Physiology

    cheney@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Ram A. Cnaan

  • Charlene Compher

  • Kassa Darge

  • Ali Dinar

    Senior Lecturer

  • Richard Estes

    Emeritus Professor

    • International and Comparative Social Development
    • Strategic and Long Term Planning
    • Social Indicators
    • Social Reporting

    restes@sp2.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Diane Eynon

  • Hocine Fetni

    Assistant Dean for Academic Advising, The College, School of Arts and Sciences Adjunct. Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology

    • Islamic Fundamentalism in the Middle East and North Africa
    • Political Instability and Laws of Investment in North Africa
    • Law and Social Change in the Middle east and North Africa - Corporation of Islamic Law

     

    hfetni@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Aline Gatignon

  • Amenam Ghaffar-Kucher

  • Guy Grossman

  • Surbhi Grover

  • Yohannes Hailu

  • Michael Hanchard

    Professor of Africana Studies

    Department Chair
    • Comparative Politics (Nationalism, Race and Ethnicity, Social Movements, Political Culture)
    • Africana Studies
    • Latin American Studies
    • Political Theory (Citizenship, Comparative Political Theory)

    hanchard@sas.upenn.edu

  • Marja Hoek-Smit

    Director of the International Housing Finance Program Zell/Lurie Real Estate Center

    Adjunct Professor Real Estate & City and Regional Planning
     
    • Housing
    • Finances and Planning
    • Eastern and Southern Africa

    mhoek@wharton.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Nancy Hornberger

  • Onoso Imoagene

    Assistant Professor of Sociology

    • Immigration
    • Inter-Ethnic Group Relations
    • The African Second Generation in the U.S. and U.K.
    • Race and Ethnicity
    • Immigrant Educational Attainment and Social Mobility

    imoagene@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • John L. Jackson Jr.

    Richard Perry University Professor of Communication and Anthropology

    Professor of Africana Studies
    Dean, University of Pennsylvania School of Social Policy and Practice
    • Ethnographic Film and Visual Studies
    • Race Theory
    • Globalization, Transnationalism, and Diaspora
    • Media Anthropology
    • Urban Studies
    • Cultural Studies
    • Performance Theory
    • Popular Culture

    jjackson@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • John B. Jemmott III

  • Hans-Peter Kohler

    Frederick J. Warren Professor of Demography, Department of Sociology

    Research Associate, Population Studies Center University of Pennsylvania
     
    • Fertility and Related Behaviors in Both Developing and Developed Countries
    • Social Interactions and AIDS-related Behavior in Africa

    hpkohler@pop.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Andrew Lamas

    Professor, Urban Studies Program

    Lecturer, School of Social Policy and Practice
     

    atlamas@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Mark Liberman

    Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Linguistics

    • Phonetic Evidence for Linguistic Structure
    • Phonology and Phonetics of Lexical Tone in West African languages
    • Application of Linguistics in Speech Recognition and Synthesis

     

    myl@cis.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Ian MacMillan

    The Dhirubhai Ambani Professor of Innovation and Entrepreneurship

    • Organizational Competence
    • New Venture Management and Entrepreneurship

     

    macmilli@wharton.edu

    Website
  • Audrey Mbeje

  • Ramah McKay

    Assistant Professor

    • Global Health
    • History and anthropology of humanitarianism
    • Critical approaches to development

    rmckay@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Adam Mohr

  • Janet Monge

    Adjunct Associate Professor Department of Anthropology

    • Physical Anthropology of Swahili People
    • Neanderthals
    • Paleoanthroplogy
    • Skeletal Biology

    jmonge@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Elaine Mshomba

  • Carol Muller

    Professor of Music

    • Music
    • Gender
    • Ethnography
    • Gospel and Muslim Music in Philly
    • South Africa
    • Performance Studies
    • New Media and Technology
    • Pedagogy

    camuller@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Monda Mwaya

  • Chika Nwadiora

  • Kobina Ofosu-Donkkoh

  • Brendan O’Leary

    Lauder Professor of Political Science

    • Nationalism
    • National and Ethnic Conflict-Regulation
    • Democracy
    • Democratization and Electoral Systems

    boleary@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Neil Perry Sheth

  • Eve Troutt Powell

    Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of History and Africana Studies

    Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, School of Arts and Sciences
    • The relationship between Africa and the Middle East
    • History of African slavery in the Nile valley

    troutt@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Jennifer Prah Ruger

  • Heather Schofield

  • Theodore Schurr

    Associate Professor of Anthropology

    Biological History of and Complex Diseases in African Populations

     

    tgschurr@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Heather Sharkey

    Associate Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

    • History
    • Society and Culture of North Africa
    • Historical Reflections of religion in North Africa

    hsharkey@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Anastasia Shown

  • David Silverman

  • Mbacke Thioune

  • Deborah A. Thomas

    R. Jean Brownlee Term Professor of Anthropology, Graduate Chair

    • Political Anthropology
    • Sovereignty
    • Violence
    • The Afterlives of Imperialism
    • Transnationalism and Diaspora
    • Race and Gender
    • Performance and Popular Culture
    • Culture and Political Economy
    • Popular Culture
    • The Caribbean

    Deborah.Thomas@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • James Thompson

  • Sarah Tishkoff

  • Ibrahima Traore

  • Robert Vitalis

    Professor of Political Science

    • Race and American International Relations Theory
    • African-American Internationalist Thought
    • The Political and Cultural Economy of the World Oil Industry
    • American Expansionism
    • History of International Relations and Development Studies

     

    rvitalis@sas.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Daniel Wagner

    Professor, UNESCO Chair in Learning and Literacy

    Director, International Literacy Institute and National Center of Adult Literacy
    Head, Program in International Education Development
     
    • Cross-Cultural Studies of Cognition and Socialization
    • Education in Developing Countries

    wagner@literacy.upenn.edu

    Website
  • Josef W. Wegner

    Assistant Professor, Asian & Middle Eastern Studies

    • Egyptian Mortuary Complex and Middle Kingdom Settlement Patterns in South Abydos
    • Egyptian Culture and Archaeology

    jwegner@sas.upenn.edu

  • Matthew Winterton

  • Sharon Wolf

  • Dagmawi Woubshet

    Ahuja Family Presidential Associate Professor of English

    • 20th-Centure American Literature
    • African American and Ethnic American Literatures
    • Postcolonial and Transnational Literatures
    • Global English
    • African American Studies
    • Gender and Sexuality Studies
    • Poetry and Poetics
    • Race, Empire, Postcolonialism
    • Transatlantic Studies
    • Visual Culture

    dagw@upenn.edu

    Website
  • Ermias Zermichael

  • Tukufu Zuberi

    Lasry Family Professor of Race Relations

    Professor of Sociology and Africana Studies
     
    • Sociology
    • Human Rights
    • African and African Diaspora
    • Africana Studies
    • Population and Health
    • Film

    tukufu@ssc.upenn.edu

    Website